Allegedly Impending Death Part #1

Some of my negligence to blog during these last two years has been due to not having very many exciting things happen to me.  The remainder of my negligence to blog has been due to my occupation with the exciting things that have happened to me.  Exciting things did begin to happen to me after I returned from my trip to the DRC in Africa.

These exciting things include:

  • Taking a trip to Kauai (and back)
  • Getting a new job
  • Breaking my leg (spiral fracture)
  • Getting more than two dates with the same woman.
  • Losing my job
  • Getting a better job
  • Becoming engaged to become married
  • Becoming married
  • Becoming aware of and experiencing surgery to remove a fast growing tumor in my abdomen
  • Becoming aware of an inoperable tumor that my doctors say will kill me in about a year if I use chemo therapy and in less than six (6) months if I do nothing.

If I get around to it, I will type about all of these.  Right now I am typing this to ask for prayer regarding the tumor that is supposed to kill me.

Because of my wife’s prayers, I have a job that I like a lot.  I also have a wife whom I like a lot.  I like my life because of these good things that God has given me.

I would like to ask as many of you as are Christians to ask God for a miracle.  I have even found a promise of which to remind God in prayers.  Please remind God of his promise to provide a long and enjoyable life on the earth for those who honor their parents, and to have things “go well” with them (Exodus 20:12 and Ephesians 6:1-3).  I am asserting that I have honored my parents, but concede that I don’t know what the fulfillment of this promise looks like.  I am aware that many who have honored their parents have lived short and unpleasant lives, but I would like to glorify God in life for a while longer before glorifying Him in death.

Please share my story with others.  I believe that God is more glorified in his work when many people see it than when only a few people see it.  I plan to share what God does on this blog so that you can know about God’s work and response to our prayers.

I also wish to report my conclusion regarding a previous blog post in which I guessed that kindness might be a good way to get a woman to desire me.  It’s true.  My wife says that she is and has been attracted to my kindness.

Since writing the first paragraphs of this post, I have become aware that a more biblical reason to wish to continue living in the body would be to accomplish fruitful labors, as Paul did (Phil 1:21-22).  I realize that there is some overlap between this and my current reasons, but I wish to increase in interest in the biblical reason.

13 Responses to “Allegedly Impending Death Part #1”

  1. ejvob Says:

    Shows how much can happen in only two years. Thanks for sharing this and not going it alone. There will be a chorus going up to God on your behalf! Take courage. -Lise.

  2. Clay Warren Says:

    We are seeking a miracle on your behalf and the strength to honor him in all things. We love you and your wife!

  3. Aunt Laura Says:

    Prayers from Michigan for loved ones in Washington.

  4. Char Says:

    We are all praying for you, and for your wife as well Josh! We have faith in a Lord who says “It is an easy thing for Me”, and are trusting He will hear our pleas for your healing so you can continue to reach out to others!

  5. Margaret and Les Says:

    We are praying for you and your wife and whole family, Josh. Bless you with His healing and many precious times with you both and with your dear family. We trust God for His mercy and kindness in your lives. Love, Les and Margaret (clement)

  6. Kim Adams Says:

    Absolutely praying for your healing and for your sweet beautiful wife to have peace and comfort while we await this miracle!
    Love the Adams! ❤

  7. PWAY Says:

    Father, your will above all in this and in all things. That being said, You bid us to lay our concerns before You, so I request healing for my brother in Christ Joshua, a man who You allowed me the pleasure of meeting once, and who enriched my life (albeit a limited amount) in this world and foreseeably more in the next. Be with him and his family in this time. In Your son’s name I pray, amen.

  8. Rhonda Engel Says:

    I will be praying for you and your wife.no matter what happens you are in his hands and he will never let you down. Praying for a miracle for you…..god speed!!!!

  9. Mariah Goeting Says:

    Dear Joshua and Amber,
    I am so sorry to hear this news of you being so ill. I want you to know that I will be praying for you in agreement that the Lord will completely heal your body and give you more time here on this earth for His glory and for all that you desire in living your life for Jesus and also giving you many ,many many more years with your beautiful bride. ❤️

  10. V.J.Maheu Says:

    You are in my prayers. May God astound the doctors.

  11. V.J.Maheu Says:

    I will be praying for you. May God astound the doctors, and give you many happy years with your wife, if that is His will, and if not, I pray for His peace to surround and fill you both, and His strength to hold you up.

  12. Judy Byrley Says:

    My sister-in-law was given a similar diagnosis in 2006 due to appendics(?) cancer. My brother got online and found some hope with a Dr. Sugarbaker n Washington D.C. She is alive and well and currently cancer free. It has been an answer to many prayers. She still has to go every 6 months to make sure she is still cancer free, but we are hopeful. The cure was not easy, but she is happy, healthy and living life to it’s fullest. Many prayers to you.

  13. Matt and Jessica Kiser Says:

    Praying for you!

Leave a Reply

